Applied Marine Biology

Overview

CAMS works in partnership with industry and public sector agencies on a wide range of aquaculture and fisheries projects

Aquaculture

CAMS cooperates on a range of grant- and industry-funded projects with partners in the aquaculture industry. These involve research and development work in the laboratories and experimental aquaria in Menai Bridge, and off-site projects in the field and with our partners. CAMS is the lead partner in SEAFARE, a long-standing Atlantic Area transnational consortium of aquaculture centres and companies that is developing and promoting environmentally sustainable aquaculture technologies and farming systems. Areas we work on include:

  • Environmental interactions of aquaculture
  • Integrating aquaculture in coastal wetlands
  • Research with the shellfish farming industry 
  • Development of offshore aquaculture in the Irish Sea
  • Technologies for shellfish and marine fish hatcheries
  • Feeds and nutrition for fish and shellfish
  • Waste water treatment and constructed wetlands for marine farms.
  • News species diversification – finfish, shellfish
  • Aquaculture-based fisheries stock enhancement and conservation
  • Tropical aquaculture – penaeid shrimp, mud crabs, aquaculture & mangroves
  • Microbial water quality

Fisheries

CAMS staff work closely with the Fisheries and Conservation Science Group based in the School of Ocean Sciences, which is a specialist group that delivers projects collaborating with the fishing industry, research institutes and government to gather scientific evidence to support sustainable management of fisheries in Wales, the UK and abroad.

Recent areas of work include:

CAMS was lead partner in the Celtic Seatrout project, a multi-agency Ireland-Wales partnership funded by EU INTEREG IV-A, looking at fisheries inventories, stock status and connectivity of sea trout stocks and fisheries of the rivers entering the Irish Sea.

The fisheries team start a new 3 year project in November 2013, funded by the Qatar National Research Fund (QNRF), The project will study how different seabed environments in the Arabian Gulf support fisheries to develop an evidence base to inform strategies for future management.

CAMS has recently undertaken consultancy projects for the Welsh Government on recreational bass fisheries and spatial review of commercial fishing in Wales.

Staff

NameCAMS RolePhoneEmail
Lewis LeVay Director 01248 38 8115 l.levay
Tom Galley Research Officer 01248 38 3512 t.h.galley
Jonathan King Deputy Director 01248 38 3935 j.w.king
Shelagh Malham Research Fellow 01248 38 3252 s.malham
Ronan Roche Research Officer 01248 38 3972 r.roche
Svenja Tidau Research Officer 01248 38 8617 s.tidau
Timothy Whitton Research Officer 01248 38 3936 t.whitton
Karen Tuson Research Administrative Assistant 01248 38 8078 k.tuson
David Mills iMarDIS Director 01248 38 8804 d.mills
David Smyth Research Officer 01248 38 8603 d.smyth
Maria Hayden-Hughes Research Project Support Officer
Julie Webb Research Officer 01248 38 8805 j.webb
Natalie Hold Research Officer 01248 38 3948 n.hold
Lucy Southworth Research Project Support Officer
Philippa Bayford Research Project Support Officer p.bayford
Claire Szostek Research Officer 01248 38 8472 c.szostek
Kata Farkas Research Officer k.farkas
Jenna Alexander Research Project Support Officer
Nathan King Research Officer
Jamie Thorpe Research Project Support Officer
Emily Groves Research Project Support Officer 01248 38 8079 ospa7f
Gemma Veneruso Research Officer 01248 38 2840 g.veneruso
NameAssociatesPhoneEmail
Luis Gimenez Academic Associate 01248 38 2904 l.gimenez
Jan Hiddink Academic Associate 01248 38 2864 j.hiddink
Gwyn Hughes Technician 01248 38 2905 oss097
Stuart Jenkins Academic Associate 01248 38 2896 s.jenkins
David Jones Academic Associate d.jones
Ian McCarthy Academic Associate 01248 38 2862 i.mccarthy
James McDonald Academic Associate j.mcdonald
Berwyn Roberts Technician 01248 38 2586 berwyn.roberts